Forty Under 40 recipients revealed

May 3, 2010
"As always, it was a fascinating and arduous process to arrive at this year's recipients," says OBJ publisher Michael Curran, who chairs the judging panel. “In spite of a challenging business environment, we believe this year was a record number of nominations that represent all major economic sectors in Ottawa. I think that speaks the quality of business talent in this city."

Mr. Curran says the assessment of nominations is taken seriously by all judges, who together spent 100 hours individually reviewing and ranking each submission.

The committee included University of Ottawa Telfer EMBA director Dr. Terrence Kulka, OCRI Entrepreneurship Centre manger Michael Burnatowski, Cellwand Communications CEO Nick Quain, OBJ editor Jim Donnelly and Mr. Curran.

“While both the quantity and quality of applicants were higher than ever this year, it was also interesting to note the growing number of younger entrepreneurs whom are clearly knocking on the door for this award. A great sign for the future of the Ottawa business community, to be sure," said Mr. Quain.

All nominations were assessed according to a 40-point system: 20 points for business achievement, 10 points for expertise and 10 points for community involvement.

The recipients will be feted on June 24 at Hilton Lac-Leamy at a gala that supports the Royal Ottawa Hospital Foundation.

Forty Under 40 recipients will also be profiled in OBJ's June 14 newspaper issue.


The 2010 Forty Under 40 recipients are:

Mike Abbott, Deloitte

Nazim Ahmed, DNA11/CanvasPop

Scott Annan, Mercury Grove Inc.

Georges Ata, Intelcan Technosystems Inc.

Jamie Barnhardt, OCM Manufacturing

Jeff Bauder, Bauder Media Group Inc. (Flagstick Brands)

Greg Bell, Lumenera

Heidi Bonnell, Rogers Communications Inc.

Nicki Bridgland, Ottawa/Kingston/Halifax/Moncton Sport and Social Club

Shawn Cadeau, Corel Corp.

Julie Cafley, University of Ottawa

Marisia Campbell, QNX Software Systems Co.

Michael Crockatt, Ottawa International Airport Authority

Erin Crowe, Senators Sports & Entertainment

Craig Doornbos,

Steven R. Edgett, EMS Technologies Canada, Ltd.

Darren Fleming, CresaPartners

Samer Forzley, eBillme

Duane Francis, Adam Capital - Manulife Securities

Geoffrey Gilbert, Ogilvy Renault LLP

David Greenall, Deloitte & Touche LLP

David Hollingsworth, Goldberg Wiseman Stroud Hollingsworth

Rob Imbeault, 10Count Consulting Inc.

Katherine Lafferty, Canadian Stroke Network & Watson's Pharmacy

Eric Lang, Knor Plast Inc.

Cathy Lewis, Abbott Point of Care

Travis Lindgren, Learning Tree International

Mahesh Mani, KPMG LLP

Peter McIntosh, The McIntosh Group

Dr. Colleen M. McQuarrie ND, Ottawa Integrative Health Centre

Ahmed Metwally, XTEAMS Consulting Services Corp.

Carl Nappert, Maplesoft Group

Adam C. Nihmey, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Sanjeev Parmar, Parmar Sports Training Inc.

Regi Roy, Titus Labs Inc.

Stuart Russell, YOUiLabs Inc.

Kevin G. Taylor, Casino du Lac-Leamy

Dave Walsh, Ernst & Young LLP

Shari Westman, Comfort Keepers

Kirk Wrinn, Moore Wrinn Financial Group Inc.